Contact us   |  



14/09/2020 17:00

Speakers: Werner Kempf

Target: Health professionals
Subnetworks: Lymphoid malignancies
Disease Groups: Primary cutaneous lymphoma

Professor Werner Kempf is Co-Director of Dermatopathology Laboratory Kempf und Pfaltz -Histologische Diagnostik, Lecturer and Consultant at the Department of Dermatology, University Hospital Zürich and President of the International Committee of Dermatopathology (ICDP).

Professor Kempf started his career at the Medical School University of Zürich, Switzerland where he obtained a Doctorate title in 1991. He continued further as a Postdoctoral research Fellow at the Department of Pathology Division Hematopathology and the Department of Medicine at the Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center, Harvard Medical School, Boston MA, USA. He continued his work at the University of Zurich focusing on CD30-positive cutaneous lymphomas, what led to the Habilitation in 2002.  Since then, Professor Kempf has held many prestigious medical and scientific functions such as Faculty member at the Department of Dermatology, University Hospital Zürich, Head of Dermatopathology and Unit for Skin Diseases in Transplant recipients, University Hospital Zürich, Vice-President of the International Society of Dermatopathology (ISDP), President of the Swiss Group of Dermatopathology (SGDP) and Executive board member of the International Society of Dermatopathology (ISDP).

Since the start of his career, Professor Kempf's research activities have been focused on cutaneous lymphomas, oncogenic viruses and skin tumors in organ transplant recipients as well as on photodynamic therapy of skin tumors. His medical and scientific achievements were awarded with the Robert Fischer Award for cutaneous lymphomas, the Steigleder Award, Prix International de Dermatopathologie Jean Civatte and the Honorary Member of the French Dermatology Society.

Professor Kempf is a member of many international dermatological and dermatopathological societies including EORTC Cutaneous Lymphoma Task Force Histopathology Group (EORTC CLTF) and International Society of Cutaneous Lymphomas. He is also member of editorial board in various journals such as American Journal of Dermatopathology, Journal of Cutaneous Pathology, International Journal of Dermatology and Skin Health and Disease. Moreover, he authored 290 publications, 50 book chapters and co-edited 6 books.